My Real Life #Inspiration for the Characters of Beyond the Cherokee Trail

I don’t often share photos of what characters from my novels look like—what they look like in my head, that is. I prefer for readers to form their own conclusions, to utilize their own unique experiences and backgrounds in forming their mind’s eye view of my characters.

While I will leave the modern-day inhabitants of fictional Cartridge Cove like Linden, Walker, Marvela and Ross to your imagination, I will share the historical photos I found which somehow launched the full-blown characters who peopled the events of the Trail of Tears portion of Beyond the Cherokee Trail.

For more behind-the-scenes photos of Beyond the Cherokee Trail, visit https://www.pinterest.com/lisacoxcarter/beyond-the-cherokee-trail/.

kweti

Kweti

sjpierce

Sarah Jane and Pierce

SJfamily

The family portrait of Sarah Jane, Pierce, Dr. Hopkins, Jonathan and David

thegrave

The grave

lilyrose

The real LilyRose, a photo shared by Garnet Redman

images

Leila Hummingbird

Leave a Reply

